PACIFIC RIM REAL ESTATE SOCIETY

AGM

ESPLANADE HOTEL FREMANTLE

TUESDAY 23RD JANUARY 2007

1pm - 1.50pm

1. Attendance

Geoff Page, Peter Cucchiarelli, David Parker, Stephen Lee, Graeme Newell, Yasmin Mohd Adnan, Mohd Nazali Mohd Noor, Chrs Eves, Larry Murphy, Sandy Bond, Karl Werner Schulte, Gisela Schulte Daxbok, Bob Hargreaves, John Sheehan, Lynne Armitage, Garrick Small, John McDonagh, Clive Warren, Bwembya Chikolwa, Paddy Pi Ying Lai, Rob Kooymans, Henning Bjornland, Angelo Karantonis, Abdul Hassan, Kathryn Robson, Bill Dimovski, Steven Rowley, Hera Antoniades, Connie Susilawati, Peter Rossini, Spike Boydell, John S C Loh, Greg Costello, Nick French, Michael Rehm, Janine Irons, John Keogh, Xin Janet Ge, Shirley Yong, Ting Kien Hwa, Neslon Chan, James Young, Deborah Levy.

2. President's Report:

John MacFarlane commended the two excellent local keynote speakers reflecting the maturity of PRRES as an organisation. He expressed confidence that PRRES was well placed to meet future challenges. He thanked Geoff Page for his work in ensuring PRRES moved on throughout 2006. He commended the Post Graduate Colloquium and thanked David Parker, Deborah Levy and Connie Susiliwati for their work in this area. He thanked Graeme Newell, Angelo Karantonis and Garrick Small for their work on the Journal. It was reported that the Postgraduate Scholarship was to receive increased funding and that the Board had established working groups to consider PRRES membership, constitution and protocol. Greg Costello and his team were acknowledged and thanked for organising an outstanding and friendly conference.

Yu Shi Ming was acknowledged for his work in the refereeing process a letter would be sent to him expressing PRRES's appreciation.

David Parker was welcomed and the new Board who he was confident could move the organisation on despite future challenges. John confirmed that he looked forward to have continued involvement in PRRES and expressed his thanks to members of the Board.

3. Treasurer's Report

John MacFarlane reported that PRRES was in a good financial position and that the Board recommended no increase in membership fees. Consideration was being given to underwriting a subsidised Postgraduate registration fee. The Journal and PRRES accounts are to be amalgamated. The two Postgraduate scholarships are to be increased from \$1000 to \$1500 and in exceptional circumstances this may be increased at the discretion of the Executive Director and President.

4. Election of President Elect

Deborah Levy nominated by Graeme Newell and John Sheehan nominated by Spike Boydell. Deborah Levy elected.

5. ERES 2007

Stephen Lee from City University encouraged members to attend the ERES Conference 2007 in London 27th -30th June 2007

6. Journal Report

Graeme Newell reported that 4 copies of the journal were published during 2006 including 1 special issue. 25 papers were published from 18 different universities. 20% of authors had not published previously including 2 by Phd students. Graeme confirmed that there was not a big backlog to publish in this journal at the present time.

7. Election of Board members:

2 vacant positions from Australia
Hera Antoniades and Garrick Small elected
1 vacant position from New Zealand
Chris Eves elected
2 vacant positions from Oceania
John Loh and Abdul Hasan elected

1 Non regional vacant position Greg Costello elected.

8. AFRES Conference 2007

Karl Werner Schulte encouraged members to attend the AFRES 2007 Conference in Livingstone $2^{nd} - 5^{th}$ May 2007.

9. President

David Parker was affirmed as the new President. He confirmed that he was looking forward to working with the Board to take PRRES forward over the following year.

10. PRRES Conference 2009

Both UTS/UWS (Sydney) and Bond University (Gold Coast) confirmed interest in hosting the 2009 conference. PRRES Board to confirm location.

11 PRRES Conference 2008

John Loh and Yasmin Mohd Adnan gave a presentation and encouraged members to attend the 2008 conference in Kuala Lumpur.

12. Any Other Business

It was confirmed that the Board would be addressing the issue of the Newsletter.

Angelo Karantonis proposed a vote of thanks to John MacFarlane for his excellent work as President over 2006.

Meeting closed at 1.50pm