PACIFIC RIM REAL ESTATE SOCIETY (PRRES)

Minutes of 11th Annual General Meeting held at the University of Melbourne, Tuesday 25th January 2005 at 1.15pm

- 1. **Commencement:** Angelo Karantonis called the meeting to order.
- 2. **Attendance:** Henning Bjornlund, Kathryn Robson, Shirley Yong, Peter Koulizos, Neil Crosby, Hera Antoniades, Garrick Small, Peter Elliott, Martin Hoesli, Stanley McGreal, Amanda McCallum, Lynne Armitage, Ric Lombardo, Larry Murphy, Deborah Levy, Rodney Jefferies, Graeme Newell, Shi-Ming Yu, Peter Rossini, John Loh, John Sheehan, Jon Robinson, Richard Reed, Angelo Karantonis, Dominique Fischer, Greg Costello, Greg Schwann, Terry Boyd, Spike Boydell, Clive Warren, Graham Crews, Raewyn Fortes, Anthony Mills, Chris Heywood, Abdul Hassan, Peter Wills, Chris Eves, Russell Lapthorne, Jinu Kim, George Earl, Rohit Kishore, Valerie Kupke, A.G.Sarip, Ming-Long Lee, John Flaherty, David Parker.
- 3. Apologies: Sally Sims, Karl Werner Schulte. Sandy Bond.
- 4. **Minutes of the previous meeting** held in Bangkok on Monday 26th January 2004 (the minutes had been available on the PRRES website and were available at the meeting) were accepted as a true record (proposed by Angelo Karantonis and seconded by Richard Reed).
- 5. Matters arising from the Minutes: none.

6. President's Report:

- (a) John Flaherty expressed his view that it was an honour to be president for the past 12 months and PRRES has grown in strength and maturity;
- (b) The quality of papers have increased for this conference;
- (c) The PRPRJ has been expanded to 4 issues per year and thanks must go to Graeme Newell and Angelo Karantonis for their contribution;
- (d) Sandy Bond should be acknowledged as newsletter editor;
- (e) This conference has been well organised and thanks must go to the collective organising skills of all four groups.
- (f) Acknowledge Professor Jon Robinson as conference chair and all conference committee members used their ability to maintain a keen focus on a common goal, being a successful 11th annual PRRES conference.
- (g) The PRRES award will be announced at the conference dinner tonight.

7. Treasurer's Report:

- (a) John MacFarlane discussed the status of the financial accounts and distributed a statement of Receipts and Expenditure for the year ending 31 December 2004, which was also available in the conference proceedings;
- (b) The account balance as at 31st December 2004 was \$43,372.60 and PRRES was in a sound financial position with adequate assets for 3 or 4 years;

- (c) The largest single expense is the PRPRJ but it is important to acknowledge the support given by universities in regards to refereeing and editorial roles the is a possibility that the PRPRJ may be converted to electronic format;
- (d) PRRES membership fees will not be increasing in 2006, although a fee increase thereafter will depend on if the PPRJ is converted to an electronic format.
- (e) Acceptance of financial report proposed by Richard Reed and seconded by Angelo Karantonis.

8. Journal Report and Update

- (a) Graeme Newell outlined a brief update of the *Pacific Rim Property Research Journal* (PRPRJ) and advised that it is published quarterly with a distinctive cover;
- (b) Thanks to referees who do an excellent job;
- (c) If authors had not already published in the journal they would be bumped up the pecking order if they submit an article 30% of authors in 2004 were first time authors in PRPRJ and 15% of these had never published anywhere before;
- (d) A special issue of the journal will be produced for this conference and should be the first issue in 2006 the normal issues also exist
- (e) An informal policy exists where if an author has not published before, the will be promoted in the que;
- (f) At present there is no backlog and thank you to all authors for submitting papers.

9. Introduction of President Elect

(a) John Macfarlane was endorsed as the president elect.

10. Election of Board

- (a) **President Elect:** John MacFarlane was proposed by John Flaherty, seconded by Deborah Levy and elected unopposed.
- (b) New Board Members: Deborah Levy (proposed by Peter Rossini, seconded by Graeme Newell) was elected as a NZ representative; John Loh (proposed by Yu Shi Ming and seconded by John Macfarlane) was elected as a Asia Pacific representative; there were five nominations for the two Australian positions: Chris Eves (proposed by Graeme Newell, seconded by Bob Hargreaves), David Parker (proposed by John Flaherty and seconded by Deborah Levy), Clive Warren (proposed by David Parker and seconded by Richard Reed), Angelo Karantonis (proposed by Yu Shi Ming and seconded by Graeme Newell), Greg Costello (proposed by Angelo Karantonis and seconded by Graeme Newell). After a vote Angelo Karantonis and Chris Eves were elected. It was proposed that the NZ member becomes a non-regional member (proposed Peter Rossini, seconded John Macfarlane). David Parker (1 year) and Greg Costello (2 years) were elected to non regional positions.

11. Confirmation of the New President

The meeting confirmed Bob Hargreaves as the new President. The outgoing President John Flaherty was thanked for his hard work.

12. **2006** Conference

It was confirmed that the 2006 conference is to be hosted in Auckland by the University of Auckland.

13. 2007 Conference Presentation

It was proposed to hold the 2007 PRRES conference in Western Australia as hosted by Greg Costello at Curtin University.

14. 2006 Conference Presentation

A PowerPoint presentation was given by Deborah Levy to all participants outlining various aspects of the conference to be held in Auckland in 22-25 January 2006. Flyers calling for papers were distributed.

- 15. Any other business: none.
- 16. Next Annual General Meeting (January 2006 in Auckland).

Meeting was declared closed at 1.57pm.