PACIFIC RIM REAL ESTATE SOCIETY

Minutes of 10th Annual General Meeting held at Windsor Suites Hotel, Bangkok on Monday 26th January 2004 at 12.00pm

1. Commencement: Angelo Karantonis called the meeting to order.

2. Attendance: Navaporan Wongurai, Teeraphan Nayeekanganalap, Somporn Burinyarayikul, Prittha Samitakup, Chatchai Incherditchai, Suthep Rodjakpai, Ninmanee Kamolratanapiboon, Sutee Paongsapas, David Dickinson, Henning Bjornlund, Lieb Nieuwoudt, George Earl, Steven Bourassi, Vincent Peng, Tracey West, Chris Eves, Bob Hargraeves, Jinu Kim, Peter Rossini, Eamonn D'Arcy, Martin Hoesli, Theron Nelson, Simon Stevenson, Chati Laoroekutai, Sirichai Wantanasiri, Pornsark Macthincharandah, Pote Ratamaprug, Geoff Page, Peter Fallon, Sandi Murdoch, John Murdoch, Grace Wong, John Loh, Wayne Dwyer, Sandy Bond, John MacFarlane, Preeda Puengpaopun, Alastair Adair, Thaveechat Jurangkool, Nelson Chan, Chanida Chaloeywares, Sangpao Udomdejwatawa, Nunthanee Ngamrungnirun, Waradej Suchitta, Pachara Pacharavanich, Norman Miller, Deborah Levy, Supoj Chawawawiwit, Niputh Jitprasonk, Ninnat Olanvoravuth, Sanoh Tiyoa, John Sheehan, Ting Kien Hwa, Tan Yen Keng, Anthony De Francesco, Stephen Lee, Sompogn Theesasaparittay, Garrick Small, Richard Reed, Angelo Karantonis, Catherine Morgan, Graeme Newell, Marcus Gieleback, Heinrich Hauss, Evan Gamby, Matt Myers, Rohit Kitshore, Niputh Jitprasonk, John Flaherty.

3. Apologies: Jon Robinson, Sally Sims, Karl Werner Schulte. Spike Boydell.

4. **Minutes of the previous meeting** held in Brisbane on Tuesday 21st January 2003 (the minutes had been available on the PRRES website and were available at the meeting) were accepted as a true record (proposed by Angelo Karantonis and seconded by Richard Reed).

5. Matters arising from the Minutes: none.

6. President's Report:

- (a) Yu Shi Ming thanked participants for attending the conference in Bangkok and appreciated the efforts of the conference organisers;
- (b) Thanks were expressed to Dr David Parker for developing the PRRES protocol;
- (c) There are a number of awards at this conference including Best Conference Paper. These awards are yet to be confirmed and details will be available on the PRRES website in due course;
- (d) In the future it is hoped to run a collaborative conference with the Asian Real Estate Society (AsRES);
- (e) The PRRES Board of Directors will be expanded from 12 to 14 members at this AGM.

7. Treasurer's Report:

- (a) John MacFarlane discussed the status of the financial accounts and distributed a statement of Receipts and Expenditure for the year ending 31 December 2003;
- (b) The account balance as at 31^{st} December 2003 was \$37,370.15.

- (c) Overall the society was in a healthy financial position, although should look at areas to improve income such as an increased membership base.
- (d) Acceptance of financial report proposed by John Flaherty and seconded by John McDonagh.

8. Journal Report and Update

- (a) Graeme Newell outlined a brief update of the *Pacific Rim Property Research Journal* and called for paper submissions;
- (b) If authors had not already published in the journal they would be bumped up the pecking order if they submit an article;
- (c) Thanks were expressed to all existing and new editorial board members for their time and efforts. This process ensured the Journal remained a respectable source of refereed articles in the international marketplace;

9. Introduction of President Elect

John Flaherty indicated that the board proposed two new positions for board members. Angelo Karantonis proposed and Richard Reed seconded motion.

10. Election of Board

- (a) **President Elect:** Bob Hargreaves was proposed by Richard Reed and seconded by Yu Shi Ming and elected unopposed.
- (b) New Board Members: Spike Boydell retired but was proposed by Graeme Newell, seconded by Richard Reed and elected unopposed. David Parker and Connie Susilawati retired. John Sheehan was proposed by Garrick Small and seconded by Lynne Armitage. Richard Reed retired but was nominated by Angelo Karantonis and seconded by Garrick Small. Sandy Bond was proposed by John Flaherty and seconded by Graeme Newell. Niputh Jitprasonk was proposed by Rohit Kitshore and seconded by Norman Miller. Chris Eves was proposed by Graeme Newell and seconded by Richard Reed.

11. Confirmation of the New President

The meeting confirmed John Flaherty as the new President. The outgoing President Yu Shi Ming was thanked for his hard work.

12. 2005 Conference

It was confirmed that the 2005 conference is to be hosted at the University of Melbourne.

13. 2005 Conference Presentation

A seven minute video was played to all participants outlining various aspects of the 2005 conference to be held in Melbourne in January 2005. Flyers calling for papers were distributed.

14. Any other business: none.

15. Next Annual General Meeting (January 2005 in Melbourne).

Meeting was declared closed at 12.58pm.